Metamorphose

While working on the grape arbor yesterday I kept noticing some sucker branches on the nearby apple tree. I kept vowing to bring the pruning shears back from the shop and cut them off. All day I kept looking at those suckers, which were only three or four feet away, but kept forgetting the pruning shears on my trip back from the shop. Finally, in midafternoon, I remembered them and upon getting back to the tree noticed the Cicada in this picture on one of the suckers. That guy metamorphosed just a few feet from me while I was working! Wish I had been paying closer attention. He must have just emerged since he had his wings outstretched for drying.

Cicada in the apple tree

One Response to “Metamorphose”

  1. amarilla Says:

    wow

Leave a Reply

